

"We endeavour to foster and promote medical education and research"

#### Trustees:

Dr Lionel Samarasinghe Prof Mike Sedgwick Prof Ram Swaminathan

### **Executive Committee:**

### **President**

Dr Ashan Gunarathne

#### Secretary

Dr Gayathri Wathuge

#### **Treasurer**

Dr Hewa Vitarana

#### **Academic Secretary**

Dr Krish Rajakrishnan

## **Social Secretary**

Dr Lalith Jayasekera

#### Webmaster

Dr Mike Isweran

#### **Editor/Dental Representative**

Prof DYD Samarawickrama

## **Assistant Secretary**

Dr Kanthi Jayawardane

#### **Assistant Treasurer**

Dr Padma Samarawickrama

## **Committee Members:**

Dr Uditha Jayatunga

Dr Yasasthrie Athapattu

Dr Shanka Beneragama

Mr A M S Abeysekara

Dr Pradep Sundaralingham

Dr S. Gowrie-Mohan

Dr Ranjan Gunasekera

Dr Aruni Molagoda

# Peradeniya Medical School Alumni Association-UK

## Memorandum

From: Dr. Ashan Gunarathne, President, PeMSAA UK

To: Prof Vasanthi Pinto, Dean, Faculty of Medicine, University of Peradeniya

Date: 17th February 2024

Subject: The PeMSAA-UK & Prof. Jayasena Student Bursary and the Pharmacology Award

We are delighted to announce the offer of two awards:

1. PeMSAA-UK and Prof. Jayasena Student Bursary and

2. PeMSAA-UK and Prof. jayasena Pharmacology Award

The Bursary and the Award are to be given to two deserving medical students, in accordance with the criteria outlined below:

#### 1. Bursary Details:

- The Bursary will be called "The PeMSAA-UK & Prof. Jayasena Student Bursary."
- Amount: 6000 rupees per month for a period of 60 months for a student with limited means.
- This will be awarded every 5 years.

## 2. Award details:

- The Award will be called the PeMSAA-UK & Prof. Jayasena Pharmacology Award
- The value of the Award will be 20,000 rupees, accompanied by a Medal/Certificate, given to a student who has displayed outstanding academic performance in Pharmacology at the 3<sup>rd</sup> MBBS examination.
- This will be awarded annually.

#### 3. Administrative Procedure:

 All communications relating to these awards between PeMSAA-UK, the Faculty of Medicine, Peradeniya, PeMSAA-Peradeniya, and the President/Chairman of the Students' Scholarship Network should be via official channels only.

## 4. Awarding Process:

 The Bursary and the Award will be made by the Dean after due selection of two eligible students by appropriate Selection Panels following a transparent process. This is to prevent any bias, favoritism, nepotism, or other corrupt practices.

## 5. Eligibility Criteria:

 The recipient of the Student Bursary must consistently exhibit satisfactory academic progress and impeccable conduct. The <u>Bursary</u> is subject to an annual review, supported by at least two staff references, not limited to mere academic achievements.

## 6. Reporting Mechanism:

• PeMSAA-UK should receive annual progress reports from the recipient of the Bursary ensuring transparency and accountability.

## 7. Issues of Concern:

 PeMSAA-UK must be promptly notified of any lapses in academic progress or conduct among the recipients.

#### 8. Financial Arrangements:

 The designated funds will be transferred to the respective bank accounts of the recipients provided by PeMSAA Peradeniya.

## 9. Formalization of Commitment:

• A contract between the Bursary and the Award recipients and the Faculty Administration should be signed before the conferment of the Bursary and the Award, formalizing the commitment of both parties.

## 10. Reciprocity:

• The recipients will be encouraged to become active members of PeMSAA upon graduation and it is expected that they will contribute to the community by supporting another student in need.

We believe that these enhancements to the Bursary and the Award Programme will contribute to a more rigorous and transparent process, fostering academic excellence and ethical conduct among the students.

Thank you for your continued commitment to advancing medical education and supporting deserving students.

EMAIL:INFO@PEMSAA.UK WEB: WWW.PEMSAA.UK TWITTER:@PEMSAAU